Jaigarh
This article has been extracted from THE IMPERIAL GAZETTEER OF INDIA , 1908. OXFORD, AT THE CLARENDON PRESS. |
Note: National, provincial and district boundaries have changed considerably since 1908. Typically, old states, ‘divisions’ and districts have been broken into smaller units, and many tahsils upgraded to districts. Some units have since been renamed. Therefore, this article is being posted mainly for its historical value.
Jaigarh
Seaport in the District and taluka of Ratnagiri, Bombay, situated in 17° 17' N. and 73° 13' E., at the southern entrance to the Shastri or Sangameshwar river, 99 miles south of Bombay. Population (1901), 2,567. The harbour forms a bay 2 miles long and 5 miles broad, with deep water, and well protected against winds. The exports, which amounted to 4-9 lakhs in 1903-4, are chiefly firewood and mola.sses; the imports, which in the same year amounted to 6-6 lakhs, are principally rice and salt. Jaigarh is now little more than a fishing village. The fort, which occupies an area of 4 acres, is situated close to the shore on gently rising ground about 200 feet above the sea.
The walls and bastions are, except in a few places, still in good repair, but are gradually decaying. The fort was originally built by the Bijapur kings, and was afterwards the retreat of a noted Hindu pirate, the Naik of Sangameshwar, who was sufficiently powerful to resist two combined expeditions of the Portuguese and Bijapur forces sent against him in 1583 and 1585. In 1713 Jaigarh passed into the hands of the famous Maratha sea-robber Angria ; and in June, 1818, on the downfall of the Peshwa, was surrendered to the British. A lighthouse, visible for 13 miles, stands on the headland. 'i1ic town contains one school.